Malaysia Government and Political Parties

By | March 13, 2023

According to Politicsezine, Malaysia is bordered by Thailand to the north and Singapore to the south. To the east lies the South China Sea, and to the west is the Strait of Malacca. In addition, Brunei Darussalam lies to Malaysia’s northeast, and Indonesia can be found just across the South China Sea.

Thailand shares a 1,800 km border with Malaysia that traverses both peninsular and eastern Malaysian states. The Thai-Malaysia border has been in existence since 1909 when it was established as part of a treaty between Britain and Siam (now known as Thailand). The Thai-Malaysia border is mostly rural but there are several major cities on both sides of the border such as Kota Bharu in Malaysia and Hat Yai in Thailand. The two countries also have a number of cultural similarities including language, cuisine, religion and music.

Singapore is located at the southern tip of peninsular Malaysia and consists of one main island along with 63 other smaller islands. Singapore shares a land border with Malaysia that stretches for about 800 km, making it one of Malaysia’s longest borders. Over time, close cultural links have developed between Singapore and its northern neighbour due to their shared history as part of British Malaya prior to their independence in 1965. Despite this close relationship, disputes over land boundaries remain an ongoing issue between Singapore and Malaysia due to unresolved territorial issues from colonial times.

The Sultanate of Brunei Darussalam lies on Borneo island just northeast of Peninsular Malaysia sharing a total land border length of about 380 km with Sarawak state in Malaysian Borneo. Brunei is separated from Sarawak by Limbang River which forms most parts of the international boundary between them. This region has long been an important trading hub for centuries due to its strategic location at the crossroads between Southeast Asia and East Asia.

Finally, Indonesia lies across from Peninsular Malaysia across the South China Sea where it shares a maritime boundary that extends for over 1,000 km along each country’s exclusive economic zones (EEZ). Indonesia also has maritime boundaries with Singapore at various points along its northern coast while sharing land borders with Sarawak state in Malaysian Borneo in addition to Sabah state further east on Borneo island itself .

Government of Malaysia

According to programingplease, the Government of Malaysia is a federal constitutional monarchy, with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong as the head of state and the Prime Minister as the head of government. The government is based on the Westminster system and is composed of three branches: executive, legislative, and judicial. The executive branch consists of the Cabinet, led by the Prime Minister who is appointed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong from among members of Parliament who command a majority in Parliament. The Cabinet is responsible for formulating national policies and executing them through various ministries and agencies. The legislative branch is composed of two houses: Dewan Rakyat (House of Representatives) and Dewan Negara (Senate). The Dewan Rakyat has 222 members elected from single-member constituencies for a five-year term while Dewan Negara has 70 senators appointed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong for a three-year term. The judicial branch consists of two high courts with original jurisdiction, one in each state, as well as Federal Court and Court of Appeal which have appellate jurisdiction over high court decisions. There are also several subordinate courts such as Sessions Courts, Magistrates Courts and Syariah Courts which deal with civil cases under Islamic Law.

Recent Heads of Government of Malaysia

The current Prime Minister of Malaysia is Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad, who took office on 10th May 2018. He is the oldest Prime Minister in the world and the first to be elected in his 90s. Prior to his election, he had previously held the same office from 1981 to 2003, making him Malaysia’s longest-serving prime minister. He was also the leader of the Pakatan Harapan coalition which won a majority in the 2018 general election. As Prime Minister, Dr. Mahathir has enacted several reforms that have improved Malaysia’s economy and international standing. These include reducing public debt, introducing new trade policies, and expanding infrastructure development and investment opportunities within the country. He has also been vocal about his commitment to fighting corruption and promoting greater transparency in government operations. In addition, he has sought to improve relations with neighboring countries such as Singapore and Indonesia by engaging in diplomatic dialogue and increasing economic ties.

Major Political Parties in Malaysia

Malaysia is a multi-party parliamentary democracy and is home to three major political parties: the Barisan Nasional (BN), Pakatan Harapan (PH) and Parti Islam SeMalaysia (PAS). The BN, formerly known as the National Front, is the ruling party in Malaysia and has been since independence in 1957. It is a coalition of 14 parties that represent different ethnic and religious backgrounds. It promotes multiculturalism, economic growth, and social stability. The PH is an opposition party that was formed in 2015 with an aim to bring about reform and change to Malaysia’s government. Its platform focuses on good governance, fighting corruption, promoting economic development, protecting human rights, and increasing civil liberties. PAS is a conservative Islamic party that seeks to establish an Islamic state in Malaysia by introducing Sharia law. It has a large following among rural Malaysians who are socially conservative but economically left-leaning. All three major parties have representation in both federal and state legislatures as well as local government bodies across the country. Each party plays an important role in shaping the political landscape of Malaysia through their respective platforms and ideologies.

Malaysia Government