All Countries of the World


Asia Africa Europe Oceania Caribbean European Union Middle East North America Central America South America

You are here: Home > Countries in Australia

List of All Countries in Oceania and Australia

Oceania is a continent consisting of Australia, New Zealand, eastern New Guinea and islands and archipelagos in the Pacific Ocean with the exception of islands along the coasts of Asia and the Americas. Oceania's islands are divided into Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia.

Oceania is the smallest continent on the surface. Australia's relationship to the concept of Oceania has not always been entirely clear. In the past, it was common for Oceania to refer only to the islands of the Pacific Ocean, and to use the term "Australia and Oceania" or "Australia with Oceania" as a term for the whole area, but today Australia is considered part of Oceania. Sometimes the whole of Oceania is carelessly called Australia, and then separates the continent and the state of Australia.

Area: 9 008 458 km²
Population: 32,000,000
States: 14
Countries: 27

Map of Oceania

Regions in Oceania

Countries in Oceania

Fiji Melanesian Countries
Kiribati Micronesian Countries
Marshall Islands Micronesian Countries
Micronesia Micronesian Countries
Nauru Micronesian Countries
New Zealand Polynesian Countries
Palau Micronesian Countries
Papua New Guinea Melanesian Countries
Samoa Polynesian Countries
Solomon Islands Melanesian Countries
Tonga Polynesian Countries
Tuvalu Polynesian Countries
Vanuatu Melanesian Countries


The multicultural situation

The indigenous peoples of Oceania find themselves in very different situations. While they are only a small minority in Hawaii, for example, the proportion of Māori in New Zealand is still just under 15%. In the Northern Mariana Islands, the Micronesians only have a population of 21.3%. New Guinea has largely an indigenous population, as does most of the South Sea islands, with the immigration of Indonesians from the west of the country in western New Guinea increasing and leading to conflict.

Europeans make up the majority in Australia, New Zealand and Hawaii. Large European minorities live in New Caledonia (34%) and French Polynesia (12%).

In the Fiji Islands, Indians are a minority of 38.2%. In the Northern Mariana Islands, the Filipinos make up the largest population group with 26.2%, the Chinese the second largest with 22.1%. In other Pacific island states, too, the proportion of the population that comes from Asia is increasing significantly as a result of immigration.

Indigenous peoples of Oceania

The indigenous peoples of Oceania include:

  • the native people of Australia, the Aborigines
    • Torres Strait Islanders
  • Melanesians in New Guinea(Papua New Guinea and Western Pacific Islands)
    • Torres Strait Islanders
  • Micronesians
    • Nauruer on Nauru
  • Papua in New Guinea(Papua New Guinea and neighboring islands)
  • various Polynesian peoples of the Pacific
    • Hawaiians in Hawaii
    • Māori in New Zealand
    • Samoans in Samoa


According to the most widely used definition of the term, Australia is the economic core of the continent. Along with New Zealand, it is also an internationally important technology location. The smaller emerging island states are increasingly shifting their economic infrastructure to the area of ​​services. The charm of the Pacific South Sea islands is an attractive aspect for tourism, regionally up to 95% of GDP is directly or indirectly related to tourism.

The transoceanic import of labor goods is on the one hand an economic brake for the countries of the first world, but secures the supply of the dependent micro-states, which can produce very little, mainly agricultural export goods (medicinal raw materials, coconuts). Freight traffic between the islands proves to be particularly difficult, which rarely takes place with small seaplanes and mainly with cargo ships or ferries. Telecommunications and broadcasting are also only developed in the few, more densely populated areas.

In the more remote areas there is an increasing number of high illiteracy rates (50% in Wallis and Futuna). These islands, mainly inhabited by indigenous peoples, are mostly politically dependent, forgotten self-sufficient areas. Copyright 2020 All Rights Reserved