All Countries of the World


Asia Africa Europe Oceania Caribbean European Union Middle East North America Central America South America

You are here: Home > Countries Starting with R

Countries that Begin with R

Republic of Korea

The Republic of Korea, sometimes called South Korea, is located in East Asia and occupies the southern part of the Korean Peninsula. The neighbor North Korea forms the only land border. There are always tensions between North Korea and South Korea.

  • Continent:
  • Language: Korean
  • Capital: Seoul
  • Currency: South Korean Won (KRW)

Republic of Moldova

Moldova is a landlocked country in south-eastern Europe. The republic is also known as Moldova in Germany and Austria and as Moldova in Switzerland. In 1991 the country gained independence from the Soviet Union. Moldova lives mainly from agriculture and the related industry.

  • Continent:
  • Language: Romanian
  • Capital: Chisinau in Romanian (Kishinev in Russian)
  • Currency: Moldova Leu (MDL)


Rwanda is a landlocked country in East Africa. Because of its hilly landscape, Rwanda is also known as the "land of a thousand hills". Rwanda emerged in the West mainly because of the 1994 genocide. The Hutu ethnic group killed around 800,000 Tutsi. To this day, the trauma of genocide runs deep and divides society.

  • Continent:
  • Languages: English, French, Kinyarwanda
  • Capital: Kigali
  • Currency: Rwanda Franc (RWF)


Romania is a semi-presidential republic in the border area between Central and Southeastern Europe. After 1945, Romania was part of the Warsaw Pact during the Cold War. Since 1989 Romania has moved closer politically to the Western European states and became a member of the European Union.

  • Continent:
  • Language: Romanian
  • Capital: Bucharest
  • Currency: Leu (RON)


Russia is a federal state in northeastern Eurasia and the largest in the world in terms of area. The Russian Federation is the "continuation state" of the Soviet Union in international organizations, a nuclear power and a permanent member of the World Security Council. Russia is the sixth largest economy in the world.

  • Continent:
  • Language: Russian
  • Capital: Moscow
  • Currency: Russian Ruble (New) (RUB) Copyright 2020 All Rights Reserved